NCDRC Rejects PNB MetLifeās Flimsy Claims, Awards ā¹14.2 Lakh to Grieving Wife!

Introduction
In a small village in Haryana, a grieving wife, referred to as the claimant to protect her privacy, faced heartbreak and hardship after PNB MetLife India Insurance Company Ltd. rejected her ā¹14.2 lakh insurance claim. š¢ Her husbandās sudden death, just a month after securing a life insurance policy, left her clinging to the promise of financial security he had made. When the insurer denied her claim, she fought back, taking her case through the courts. On June 21, 2025, the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC) delivered a powerful ruling in her favor, exposing the insurerās flimsy defense and restoring hope. This story of courage and justice shines as a beacon for others facing similar struggles. š
Brief Case History
The claimantās husband purchased a life insurance policy from PNB MetLife on April 27, 2016, with a sum insured of ā¹14.2 lakh for an annual premium of ā¹8,212. šø Tragically, he passed away on May 27, 2016, leaving his grieving wife to claim the insurance amount meant to secure her future. PNB MetLife rejected the claim on October 31, 2016, alleging that the deceased had hidden a throat cancer diagnosis. Determined to honor her husbandās intent, the claimant took her fight to the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (DCDRC) in Karnal. Her persistence carried the case through the State Commission and ultimately to the NCDRC, where justice was served. āļø
The Claimantās Arguments
The claimant was shattered when PNB MetLife denied her claim, turning her husbandās promise of security into a painful battle. š Before the District Commission, she argued that her husband had been honest in his insurance application, answering āNoā to questions about prior illnesses because he had no known health issues at the time. There were no records of cancer, no hospital visits for such a condition, and no intent to deceive. The grieving wife called the insurerās accusations baseless, a cruel attempt to shirk their responsibility. She pleaded for the court to see through PNB MetLifeās claims and uphold the policy her husband had trusted to protect her. š Her fight was not just for the money but for the trust and love her husband had placed in the systemāa legacy she was determined to defend.
The Respondentās Defense
PNB MetLife stood firm, insisting that the claimantās husband had breached the principle of āutmost good faithā central to insurance contracts. š āāļø Their investigation, conducted by M/s XXX Associates, claimed to have uncovered evidence that he had throat cancer and received treatment at PGI Chandigarh before the policy was issued. Pointing to a question in the April 26, 2016, application form where he answered āNoā to prior health issues, PNB MetLife labeled this a deliberate omission of a āmaterial factā that would have led them to reject the policy. š¤ They relied on their investigatorās report, citing statements from unnamed villagers and alleged medical records, to justify denying the claim. The insurer also argued that the death, occurring just a month after the policyās issuance, raised suspicions of fraud, strengthening their case for repudiation.
The Courtās Observations
The NCDRC carefully examined the case, delivering sharp observations that dismantled PNB MetLifeās defense. Key points include:
-
No Tangible Evidence: The court noted that PNB MetLife failed to produce medical records or affidavits to support their claim of pre-existing throat cancer. āNo material was placed either before the District Commission or before the State Commission to support the recital of any medical records available to establish the previous ailment of the Insured.ā The insurer bore the burden of proof and failed to meet it.
-
Unreliable Investigatorās Report: The investigatorās report was deemed āunambiguous and uncertain,ā relying on vague, anonymous statements and lacking records from PGI Chandigarh or Rohtak. āThere is no specific reference of person(s), by his/their name, address etc. who revealed to investigator that life assured died due to throat cancer.ā
-
Failure to Meet Burden of Proof: The court emphasized that the insurer must provide ācogent and convincing evidenceā to justify repudiation. āWhen the Insurance Company has taken a stand on the basis of its Investigatorās report to repudiate the claim then the burden lies on the Insurance Company to prove it to the hilt.ā
-
No Judicial Overreach: The court rejected PNB MetLifeās request to summon hospital records, stating that courts are not meant to remedy the insurerās evidentiary gaps. The insurerās RTI application was also deemed insufficient.
Final Judgment and Conclusion
On May 21, 2025, the NCDRC delivered a triumphant ruling for the claimant, dismissing PNB MetLifeās revision petition. š The court upheld the decisions of the District and State Commissions, ordering the insurer to pay the ā¹14.2 lakh claim, as no credible evidence supported their allegations of non-disclosure. This victory was a lifeline for the grieving wife and a powerful message to insurers everywhere: unverified reports and vague accusations wonāt hold up in court. š The ruling reaffirmed that insurance companies must back their claims with solid proof. For the claimant, this was more than a financial wināit was a restoration of her husbandās honor and the future he had planned for her. As she steps forward, she carries the strength of justice and the enduring love of her husband. šŖ
Disclaimer: This article pertains to the case (Revision Petition No. NC/RP/1904/2024), adjudicated by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission on May 21, 2025. It is provided for informational purposes only, offering a summary of the judicial ruling based exclusively on the facts and records available from the case, and does not constitute legal advice. The claimantās identity is withheld to safeguard privacy. It is expressly stated that there is no intention to defame, criticize, or cast any negative judgment upon any individual, entity, or party involved in the proceedings. The content is solely derived from the official case details and is presented with the utmost respect for all parties, aiming to inform without prejudice. Readers are advised to seek counsel from a qualified legal practitioner for authoritative guidance.
Image Disclaimer: The accompanying image is an AI-generated illustration, crafted to visually complement the articleās narrative, and holds no factual connection to the individuals, locations, or events of the case. It serves as an artistic representation only and should not be deemed evidence or a depiction of reality.
Send them this story. It may help with their claim.

Insurer rejected your claim?
Tell us what happened. Samadhan Sarathi reviews it and tells you your options.



Comments